top of page

Imagination: Why Do We Need It?


In my youth I was always asked, "Trinity, why are you so quiet?" My head was always in a book, in music or a good movie. I had an amazing childhood! However, my troubles came from having a learning disability and bullying. I loved to learn but I hated going to school. I felt stupid and the other kids made sure I knew it. In order to get through these times, I would imagine my life in different worlds. Who could I be? A queen, a Jedi, a warrior, a super hero, a wizard, a pirate, an explorer, etc. These fantasy worlds I created in my mind helped me to deal with the realities I was facing every day at school.

People would always say "you have your head in the clouds. It's time to come back to reality." They had no idea that I was an active participant in reality while simultaneously being a part of my fantasy worlds. When school got harder, I asked myself, "how would Jedi Trin handle this?" The answer was to remain calm and find methods to help me learn better. And thus, I was able to do better in school. When I got bullied, I used this question to have the confidence to stand up for myself. It didn't mean I didn't go through hard times because I certainly did. There were many occasions where depression and anxiety would take over my life. Imagination just gave me the hope I needed to keep fighting.

I used to think that there was something wrong with me. I used to think that my imagination was my weakness because it led me to have "unrealistic goals." I thought that maybe I was too child-like. However, when I look back, I see that it has always been and always will be my strength. It didn't give me unrealistic goals but rather showed me my potential. It showed me the traits I already possessed and everything I could be. I can be strong, I can be confident, I can be brave enough to go after what I want in life. I can do anything if I only have the courage to try and to want it bad enough.

Imagination is the way to guide our lives in the direction that best suits us. It also propels us into the future. Think about all the creativity put into imagination. Albert Einstein has said, “I’m enough of an artist to draw freely on my imagination, which I think is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” Everything man-made in this world has come from imagination: cars, airplanes, smart phones, television, computers. Many of these were once considered impossible. Despite this, the impossible became possible with imagination.

My friends, never lose sight of your inner-child, your curiosity. Keep dreaming. Keep asking yourself that one important question, "what if?" It can only open doors to all the possibilities and give you the option to explore who you are, who you could be, what you can do and what you want for your life. It can help you to stay strong in hard times and give you hope. Think about Walt Disney and everything he has created despite all the trials he had went through with his many failed businesses. The Disney company all started with a mouse! Thus, it is important that we never let that inner child go. They are key for resilience, adventure, hope, love and endless possibilities! Therefore let your imagination take flight!

Recent Posts

See All

Announcement!

First, I want to thank all of those who have been keeping up with this blog and reading. It means the world to me! I have created a new blog website https://todayisagift.space/ and have moved the old

bottom of page