top of page

Make Yourself a Priority


My mother has always told me to be my own advocate. She would often repeat this as a way of saying that I am the only one who can make the best decisions for myself and my life. However, it took me a long time to actually start becoming my own advocate. I have a hard time putting myself first. I don't like to say "no."I am very much a people-pleaser, which has it's strengths and weaknesses. I care too much about how others see me and I am afraid to disappoint them. I want to be the hero for others. I want to be the person they can always count on to save the day. And unfortunately, this has led me to neglect my own needs.


Making myself a priority has been something I have been working on recently and it has empowered me greatly! What I mean by this is that I have taken a look at what my needs are and how I can be my own advocate in each of these needs. I have learned that I needed some professional help with my anxiety. Due to this, I sought out therapy which has helped me tremendously! I learned that when I am sick, it is best to stay home rather than trying to power through it. I heal faster that way! I learned that in order to stay sane, I need to go out and enjoy nature otherwise I become depressed. I learned that I need to laugh often because it helps me to stay upbeat and positive. I learned that to be truly content with my career choices, I need to go after what I truly desire; being a writer. Fulfilling each of these needs has made me so much happier and healthier!


I know that not everyone will agree with my decisions, but that is okay. I know what I want for my life and I know what's best for myself. I have had to learn that there is no one path. Not everyone will go to college. Not everyone is cut out for office work. Not everyone will get married and have kids. And that is okay! Some may become firefighters. Others office workers, business owners or artists. Some will choose to not have a family and focus on humanitarian work or on their career. I'm grateful to have gone to college. I am so incredibly happy to be married to my wonderful husband. I want to have children. And I want to be a writer. What makes me happy and healthy is not what will necessarily have the same result for someone else. We are all different and it is wonderful! The choices I make are well thought out and calculated for the best interest of myself as well as my family. And what is so great about this is that it makes for a healthier lifestyle!

My friends, love yourself enough to make yourself a priority! Be your own advocate and work to give yourself the life you want. Life is too short to waste and your happiness is so important! If you need some more you-time, make time for that. If you want to change your career, do it. If you want to go back to school, find a way to make that happen. If you want more family time, make plans! I want you to take a good hard look at what you need to make yourself a happier and healthier version of yourself and then take care of those needs. You are important too! Never neglect your needs no matter how crazy life gets. You deserve to be happy and healthy. You deserve to be a priority!

Recent Posts

See All

Announcement!

First, I want to thank all of those who have been keeping up with this blog and reading. It means the world to me! I have created a new blog website https://todayisagift.space/ and have moved the old

bottom of page